AWS Networking Concepts

Before March 2023 I couldn’t for the life of me understand what was going on in the AWS VPC dashboard. I mean, look at the length of the scrolling bar on the left-hand panel!

So, with the goal of figuring out the various resources involved in networking, I read (most of) this book: AWS Networking Fundamentals, by Toni Pasanen.

My first thought after finishing it was this: there’s so many resources involved because there’s a lot of types of connections you can have. AWS account to on-premise, account to account, VPC to VPC, subnet to subnet, VPC to internet, VPC to specific AWS services…

So anyway, I made this mind map to link all pieces together (Lucidchart link):

Let me know if you find it useful and/or if you find any errors!

AWS Networking Concepts

18 thoughts on “AWS Networking Concepts

  1. Hi! Nice diagram, take a look at ENIs. They are the basis for at least a few things and maybe more. But security groups are technically assigned to an ENI, which becomes apparent when you put more than one ENI on a host (the first is sort of built-in). Cheers!

    Like

  2. O.D. says:

    Just a small correction, that might be useful if someone is studying to get a certification.

    An AZ is made up of one or more physical datacenters. It is NOT a standalone datacenter.

    Like

  3. skott klebe says:

    This is really good, and I love it.

    It’s already tangled, but I think you could find room for some additional NACL/security group nuances:
    – NACL {allows} IP:port / {blocks} IP:port
    – NACL {allows} CIDR range / {blocks} CIDR range:port
    – Security group {allows} IP:port
    – Security group {allows} IP:port
    – Security group {may be source/target} of security group

    Like

  4. Jeremy M. says:

    Hello,

    It seems interesting, too bad there is no way to increase the schema size because on my computer it is unreadable ;).

    But thx anyway

    Like

Leave a comment